Intensified PBA Games Kick Off with Team Muses, Special Awards, Spectacular Performances in Season 47 Grand Opening

Friday, June 10, 2022

The momentous PBA Season 47 grand opening last June 5 was made even more memorable by a star-studded program, a special awarding ceremony, and the much talked-about parade of teams with their respective muses. Aside from the live audience at the Smart Araneta Coliseum, TV viewers also got to enjoy their front-row access to the spectacular show via the live telecast of TV5, One Sports, and Cignal’s PBA Rush channel.

The PBA officially opened its Season 47 with Morissette Amon singing the Philippine National Anthem, followed by TV5’s Born to Be A Star Finalists Hans Paronda and Jannah Bocatiya’s uplifting invocation.

Hosted by Gretchen Ho and Vhong Navarro, the PBA Season 47 grand opening was filled with entertaining performances from Buganda Drumline and Dancers, Lovi Poe with G-Force, P-Pop Idol Girl Group BINI and Aces of Pop BGYO, PoPinoy’s Yara and Versus, and the Sing Galing Kantastic 6.

The much-awaited parade of PBA teams came after the introduction of the PBA Board of Governors. The Converge FiberXers, this season’s newest team, came out first with their muse, Maureen Wroblewitz. They were followed by Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel with AJ Raval, Blackwater Bossing with Hannah Arnold, Magnolia Chicken Timplados Hotshots with Michelle Dee, Meralco Bolts with Kim Mangrobang, NLEX Road Warriors with Patch Magtanong, Northport Batang Pier with Zambel Lamberth, Phoenix Super LPG with Celeste Cortesi, Rain or Shine with Joana Marie Rollosa,  San Miguel Beermen with Ksenia Grondetska, Terrafirma Dyip Ginebra with Azriel Coloma, and lastly, the PBA defending champions TNT Tropang Giga with Sue Ramirez as their muse.

To the delight of the audience and the viewers watching the live broadcast of the event on TV5, One Sports, and Cignal’s PBA Rush channel, the PBA players showed their fun and quirky side as each team showcased their own entertaining VTRs and dance samples.

Another highlight of the PBA grand opening was the resumption of the 46th Season Leo Awards, the annual awarding ceremony that honors the PBA’s outstanding players. Hosted by Jutt Sulit and Denise Tan, the PBA pre-event ceremony saw Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel’s Scottie Thompson bagging the Most Valuable Player award while TNT Tropang Giga’s Mikey Williams was named Rookie of the Year.

The 46th Leo Awards also gave recognition to Kevin Alas of the NLEX Road Warriors as he received the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award. Terrfirma Dyip’s Juami Tiongson, on the other hand, was given the Most Improved Player Award. The All-Defensive Team Award was accorded to Cliff Hodge, Arwind Santos, Kelly Williams, Jio Jalalon, and Chris Ross.

Two mythical teams were subsequently selected during the Leo Awards: the 2nd Mythical Team composed of Ian Sangalang, Christian Standhardinger, Matthew Wright, Robert Bolick, and CJ Perez; and the 1st Mythical Team of Mikey Williams, Scottie Thompson, June Mar Fajardo, Calvin Abueva, and Arwind Santos.

Welcoming new players, new teams, and making this new season more exciting and engaging for PBA fans all around the world, the PBA Season 47 grand opening was truly reflective of the PBA’s mantra “GAME TAYO DITO” season campaign. 

Don’t miss the most exciting Philippine basketball season yet. Catch the live PBA action on TV5, One Sports, and Cignal TV’s PBA Rush – Wednesdays & Fridays at 3:00 PM, Thursdays & Saturdays at 5:15 PM, and Sundays at 4:30 PM. 

You Might Also Like