Filipino talents complete roster of Asia’s best honored at 24th Asian TV Awards

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Asian artists and talents were given spotlight during the second day of the 24th Asian Television Awards, held at the Newport Performing Arts Theater at Resorts World Manila on Saturday, January 11, 2020.

A total of 18 awards were given on Saturday, honoring the best performances, TV shows, and networks in the region, chosen by an expert panel of more than 50 judges from all over Asia. 

The Philippines received three awards on Saturday. Martin Del Rosario won the award for Best Leading Male Performance – Digital category for his role in the digital series Born Beautiful. Mystified, the Filipino digital series starring Karylle, Diana Zubiri, Iza Calzado, and Sunshine Dixzon, won the Best Single Drama or Telemovie category. The song “Alanganin,” performed by artists Kris Lawrence and Krizza Neri for the animated series Barangay 143, received the Best Theme Song award. 

Other winners include Taiwanese actor William Hsieh (Best Actor in a Leading Role), Thai actress Tisanart Sornsuek (Best Actress in a Leading Role), Thai actor Attaphan Poonsawat (Best Actor in a Supporting Role), and Thai actress Anyarin Terethanapat (Best Actress in a Supporting Role). 

Indonesian singer-songwriter received the special award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television Performing Art, while Filipino business Manny V. Pangilinan received the special award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television. 

ABS-CBN newscaster Cathy Yang and the GMA-7 animated show Barangay 143 were among the winners of the Technical and Creative Awards of the 24 Asian Television Awards, held on Friday, Jan 10, 2020.

Yang was the Best News Presenter or Anchor winner for her work in her program Market Edge With Cathy Yang on cable channel ANC.

Baranggay 143 was named Best 2D Animated Program winner. 

Launched in 1996, the Asian Television Awards is considered as the region’s most celebrated and prestigious gathering of TV artists and professionals in the region that aims to recognize excellence in programming, production, and performances. 

Here is the complete list of the winners of the 24th Asian Television Awards:

Best Actor in a Leading Role: William Hsieh (First Love)
Best Actress in a Leading Role: Tisanart Sornsuek (True Life of a Drama Queen)
Best Direction (Fiction): Jeevan Nathan (Avenue 14)
Cable/Satellite Network of the Year: Line Company Thailand
Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year: China Global Television
Best Host/Presenter – Digital: Panirin Tumwattana (Little Nirin)
Best Entertainment Presenter/Host: Alana Nichols (Follow Alana)
Best Adaption of an Existing Format: Masterchef Junior Thailand Season 1
Best Reality Show: My Kitchen Rules Australia
Best Original Digital Drama Series: The Deadline
Best Digital Fiction Programme/Series: Social Syndrome
Best Leading Male Performance – Digital: Martin del Rosario (Born Beautiful)
Best Leading Female Performance – Digital: Chanya McClory (The Deadline)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Attaphan Poonsawat (The Gifted)
Best Actress in Supporting Role: Anyarin Terethananpat (Loop of Vengeance)
Best Single Drama or Telemovie: Mystified
Best Drama Series: Skycastle
Best Theme Song: "Alanganin" by Kris Lawrence and Krizza Neri (Barangay 143)
Award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television Performing Arts: Anggun
Award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television: Manny Pangilinan

Technical and Creative Awards:

Best Documentary Program (one-off/special): Is Australia Sexist? 
Best Documentary Series: China From Above 2 
Best Natural History or Wildlife Program: Orang Utan Jungle School 
Best Single News Story/Report (10mins or less): Giant Clams-Nature’s Climate Archive 
Best News Program: Sunaina’s Story 
Best News Presenter or Anchor: Cathy Yang, Market Edge with Cathy Yang (ABS-CBN News Channel, Philippines)
Best Social Awareness Program: Planet Healers 
Best Current Affairs Presenter: Andini Effendi, Q&A Metro TV 
Best Current Affairs Program: Kerala Floods_The Human Story
Best Comedy Program: The Family Law Season 3 
Best Lifestyle Program: The Spirit of Zen
Best Infotainment Program: Mega Icons 
Best Entertainment Program (One off/Annual): 2018-2019 Jiangsu Satellite TV New Year’s Eve Concert
Best General Entertainment Program: SASUKE Ninja Warrior 2018 
Best Original Digital Entertainment Program: Super Nova Games 
Best Children’s Program: Bodypedia Baby
Best Preschool Program: Didi & Friends 
Best 2D Animated Program: Barangay 143 
Best 3D Animated Program: Treehouse Detectives 
Best Live Sports Coverage: Australian PGA Championships 2018
Best Sports Program: Go Top Heroes 
Best Sports Presenter/Commentator: Michael O’Dwyer (Live@HWWC HSBC Singapore 2019)
Best Talk Show: Koffee with Karan Season 6 
Best Game/Quiz Program: Boom! Vietnam 
Best Music Program: The Producer 
Best Music Video: Sandcastles by Olinda Cho
Best Influencer Content/Series: Stupid Man Smartphone-Singapore
Best Branded Content (15 mins): Prison Rat
Best Branded Content (<15 football="" home="" mins="" nbsp="" of="" p="" queensway:="">
Best Branded Marketing Content: Mitsubishi Adventure with National Geographic
Best Digital Non-Fiction Program/ Series: Painted Love: Our Story 
Best Scriptwriting for Web Series: The Deadline
Best Cinematography:  Kumar Subramanyam (Breaking Point_Haws) 
Best Original Screenplay:  Ekacahai Uekrongtham (Bangkok Love Stories: Plead)
Best Editing: Zhou Quan, Life Matters Season 2 
Best Direction (Non-Fiction): Prabhu Asgadnkar (Breaking Point_Haws)

You Might Also Like